My five minute cheat’s apple crumble

I wish I had more time to practice cooking and experiment with new recipes.  I think when I met my husband I’d never cooked a cake in my life.  Anyhow I am getting there, slowly…do a mean muffin, and banana cake!

I make this quick dessert once a week usually.  It’s so foolproof it doesn’t involve exact measurements of ingredients; it’s hard to actually get it wrong.  Of course I’d prefer to do the proper version: fresh apples, crumble butter, sugar & flour together by hand etc.  But typically as I’m making this dessert, I have 1 year old at my feet emptying the contents of the kitchen drawers…

Butter a baking dish.  Tip large can of pie apple in, throw in 1/2 cup blueberries or raspberries if you like.  Few shakes of cinnamon on the fruit and mix it through.  Topping: about 1 1/2 cups oats and 1/2 cup brown sugar.  Mix together.  In a separate bowl, microwave a decent chunk of butter (about 100g) until melted.  Mix through the oats and sugar.  Shake a little more cinnamon into the oat mix.  Scrape the oat mix on top of the fruit.  Bake 200 degrees for about 20 minutes, or until top is quite brown and has nice crunchy bits.

Serve very warm, with vanilla icecream.  Yum!

Leave a comment