Clowning around

Image Credit

I really admire some of the skills that a professional clown has.  Seriously.  Particularly juggling.  Last time we took Mr.5 to the circus, I watched in awe as one clown juggled 3, then 4, then 5, then 6 balls in the air (maybe more, I forget).

And what about those pins they juggle, that are sometimes alight?  Or knives?  It demonstrates such amazing co-ordination and control; a skill clearly practiced over many hours.

Of course there’s two types of juggling: the clown-type, and the life-type.  Co-ordination, control, practiced skill.  They apply to both, don’t they?

I can’t juggle like a clown, no matter how many times I’ve tried.  Totally un-co when it comes to juggling.

I’m also not overly great at juggling day-to-day life, either, to be honest.  That became apparent to me, as it does to many women, when you become a working mother.  None of us really do it to perfection, and rarely are we happy with our balancing act (and if you say you are, you’re fibbing).  There’s always something that has to give.

Like how I’ve missed Mr.5’s first three little athletics sessions in a row, because I’ve been at work.

<Insert healthy dose of mother guilt here.>

But that’s life, and I’ve learnt that life doesn’t always run to plan.  I’ve certainly accepted that juggling everything perfectly is impossible, and that’s OK.  I’ve learnt, after five years of parenting, you organise what you can, but most of the time you just have to go with the flow.

Anyway, back to my juggling efforts.  Up until recently I’d been doing fairly well, if I say so myself, combining motherhood, work, getting some regular exercise in, eating healthily, getting enough rest.  However since adding another job to the mix a couple of months ago, setting up my own business, my balancing act seems to have to gone out the window.

I added the one job that depends solely on me alone to do the work and make it succeed.

I also added a job that I love and am passionate about, and want to work hard at.  I thought I’d start up slowly…but I don’t tend to do things by halves.  I’m an all-or-nothing kind of person.

Which has led to many a late night recently.  Some days eating poorly.  Some days, when I’m really busy, not eating enough, running on adrenalin and coffee (how stupid is that?). Not enough hard exercise.  And not enough simple activities with my family, like a candlelit dinner at home with Mr.42, or family picnics at the park.

So, what to do..to succeed at the balancing act once more?

The best way I know how, is to take a step back from work and just get back to basics.  To clear my head.  So this week, I’ve been preparing proper food for myself all the time, not just for the kids.  Started hard weight training again with a professional.  And this weekend, spending a night in a hotel with Mr.42.  The boys can’t wait to be babysat by their grandparents.

Twenty four hours to slow down.  Sleep in.

And already, I’m feeling better.  Like I said, I don’t do things by halves!

Alison x

Leave a Reply

