Getting hitched

No, not me. Mr.42 & I were married back in February, 2005. A good friend of mine Shelley is getting married very soon, and she has set up a linky on her blog, all about weddings! As you are a special girl, Shell, here are some photos for you of my big day. Wedding dress straps and all! šŸ™‚

If you haven’t visited Shelley’s blog yet, My Shoebox Life, please do, you’ll be glad you did. We met via our blogs, then on Twitter, where we discovered we were twittering less than a kilometre from each other! Of course we had to meet in person, and since then have had several refreshing and open discussions over Japanese and Thai (or was that Greek?). And who knows, perhaps my Mr.2, and Shelley’s Miss A, may have a wedding of their own one day…

Anyhow – back to getting hitched! I don’t think I’ve blogged about my wedding day before, and the main reason for that is because we went el cheapo on the photographer & never got any photos on CD. But I have made a special effort today for you Shell…enjoy!

The youthful bride

The legendary bridesmaids

The kiss

We had a small, intimate wedding like Shelley’s chosen to do. Just 48 people, including us…and a big long lunch that went all afternoon. Lots of wine, lots of chatting, lots of kissing, lots of laughs..

We only chose people who we really wanted there with us. That put a few noses out of joint (and those noses are still out of joint today), but it doesn’t matter. The day is only about you and your husband-to-be, despite what some people may think otherwise.

The mates

The handover

The happy couple

I look all coy and virginal here, don’t I? I can assure you I was neither šŸ˜‰ I knew exactly what I was doing when I married Mr.42. Not only was he a hunk of extremely handsome man, he was (and still is) a good man. Who makes me laugh. Who has high standards, values and morals. I also had a gut feeling he would be a wonderful father, and I was right. And all that rational stuff aside, I knew as soon as I first met him I wanted him for keeps. It was a long first date..

But did I know back then what marriage involved? Not to the extent I do now. It’s a cliche, but it is a journey. There are times when it’s smooth sailing..many moments of contentment and happiness, times of joy and amazement – but also challenging and testing times, too.

It’s a wonderful feeling to share your life with someone who knows you inside out, who knows your flaws and faults, who has seen you at your best and worst…yet still wants to continue on the same path as you, for life. That’s love for you right there šŸ™‚

So Shelley, I want to wish you all the best for your special day. Don’t worry about anyone else except you, and Mr.G. Can’t wait to see the photos!

17 responses to “Getting hitched

  1. Beautiful. Just beautiful. I loved your dress, your hair, everything! I love a naturally gorgeous bride rather than an over primped one. There shall be straps on my dress, and hair down, and not a fake tan in sight. šŸ™‚ Can’t wait to catch up again – Japanese please – and we can talk like a pair of old married women – planning our children’s weddings, of course! Thanks for all your support. I’m at that over stressed stage of proceedings, and you certainly made me feel better today. xx

  2. Lovely pics šŸ™‚ Understand what you mean about noses out of joint my husband and I went to Malta to get married, just the two of us. The difference there is I thought that everyone would be offended equally as no one was invited! LOL …. still ‘put noses out of joint’ and some people we no longer speak to over the ‘brawls’ that resulted from this. Lots of people thought they should get a say but like you said it’s about the bride and groom, something some people dont seem to understand that without the bride and groom and their love for each other there would be no wedding to ‘get your nose out of joint’ about.

    Hope your friend Shelly has a wonderful day.!!

    • We considered eloping and just having a big overseas trip…it was seriously on the cards several times! Never ceases to amaze me how others somehow can’t see a wedding day isn’t about them, when it ain’t theirs!

  3. Holy Moly… gorgeous! I really regret not wearing a veil. I can’t remember my reasons for not wearing one now…ah well! Wish I’d taken a leaf out of yours and Shelley’s books and had an intimate wedding but our families were both quite extended!

    Gorgeous photos, stunning bride, handsome groom :o)

Leave a Reply

