Another man’s trash…

It’s a long weekend here in Melbourne, which has allowed me to finally finish a little project I’ve been working on – painting chairs.  And if you have young kids around, you’ll know it’s not that easy getting painting jobs done.

Recently there was a hard rubbish collection where we live.  While I’m not one to shamelessly rummage around in other people’s junk, I do keep my eye out, as it can be pretty amazing to see what other people consider ‘trash’.

A few weeks ago I spied a couple of old wooden outdoor seats.  They were dark green and covered in dirt and spider webs, but very solid. 

After a good clean and sand, I painted them with primer then a high gloss white – all leftover paint we already had. 

Then a couple of weekends ago I came across an old wooden crate box that someone decided was junk.  Perhaps they weren’t aware that similar wooden boxes sell for $60 and upwards at vintage furniture stores..

I decided to give the front verandah a mini-makeover, putting the two seats together and add a few bits and pieces.  The wooden box made a useful side table.  Went from this:

To this..

The white pots and cushion I already had, the succulents were $2.98 each from Big W.  Also from Big W were the chair pads $12 each, and the glass tealight lantern was $6.95 from Provincial Home Living.

It’s not the antique 6ft church pew or vintage cane chairs I had in mind…but hundreds of dollars cheaper, and the perfect spot for to have a cup of tea while the boys scoot around. So I’m happy!

2 responses to “Another man’s trash…

Leave a Reply

