C is for Cookies

Yesterday I had my little political rant and decided that’s enough of that for now – politics and religion are topics best limited 😉 

So onto something far more important than politics.  No, not the kids this time.

Cookies!! 🙂

Aside from reading about food lately, I’ve also been teaching myself how to cook it better – well, cookies in particular.  I’ve made dozens of batches of them, probably more.

I enjoy baking all sweet things, but have found I love to bake cookies.  They’re easy, quick, no-fuss and I derive as much satisfaction from one or two good cookies, as from a piece of cake or rich dessert.  They’re also practical, and go down well in Mr.4’s lunchbox for kinder.

But most importantly, cookies are fun to make and eat!  Bake a batch of cookies and have a couple with a glass of cold milk, and I swear you’re transported to your childhood.  Remember this guy?

Here’s a recipe I used last night for butter pecan cookies.  These are to die for and a cinch to make.

1/3 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup unsalted butter (yep, the real deal)

Pinch salt

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

3/4 pecans, finely chopped

1 cup self-raising flour

Beat butter and sugar.  Mix in the vanilla extract.  Add your flour and pinch of salt.  Mix well.  Fold in the pecans.

Roll into balls (makes about 20).  Place 3cm apart on a greased and lined biscuit tray, and bake at 180 degrees for about 10 minutes.  I turn the trays around halfway through baking so they cook evenly.

Note – because the recipe doesn’t include egg, let the cookies cool completely on a wire rack before picking them up.  While they’re still hot, they’ll crumble – but when cool, you’re left with a melt in the mouth, gourmet-tasting cookie that contains no artificial rubbish and one that I’d happily pay money for at a cafe.

More cookie delights to come 🙂

6 responses to “C is for Cookies

  1. Oh cookies, a subject close to my heart. Personally I rave about Bill Grangers choc chip cookies and over the past week my favourite has been white choc and cranberry from the Hummingbird bakery cookbook.

    Have you got a little old fashioned ice-cream scoop (the one with the squeeze lever) ? They are fantastic for shaping the dough in even size with little mess.

    Also I always also do a double batch, freeze the preshaped balls on a baking tray, then bag up the frozen bags of dough. I then always can have fresh baked cookies within 20minutes. Perfect if I’m expecting visitors or taking a plate somewhere.

    Look forward to hearing more about your baking exploits!

    • Hi Megan, yes I do have a little icecream scoop, though I don’t tend to freeze them – I should, though. I’ll wait for your blog on your baking, I’m sure you could fill a whole blog about what you cook!!

      • Yes I probably could but unfortunately my writing talent is lacking! My favourite food blog would have to be ‘joy the baker’ not sure if you have discovered her yet but I just love it!

  2. Alison! I’m so glad to see that you’re blogging again! It looks like I have a few posts to catch up on 🙂 Are you back on Twitter as well?

    I’ve turned into a bit of a cookie monster lately. They’re just so easy to bake and go so nicely with a cup of tea or glass of milk – totally agree that milk and cookies is the ultimate combination to take you straight back to your childhood.

    This recipe looks delicious xxx

Leave a Reply

