Blogging & me

I’m really happy to be back blogging again.  I missed writing and recording events, thoughts and ideas.  During my hiatus, I did try doing it the old-fashioned way – using pen & paper – but I think once you’ve had a blog, it’s very hard to switch mediums. 

(Plus I’m left-handed, so I continually smudge what I write.)

My break from the blogging world was well worth it though.  I’m now back blogging for one person only. 

Me!

The way it should be of course, but it’s easy to find yourself writing for an audience (if one can be so presumptuous!).  There’s a lot of competitiveness out there, too, in the blogosphere.  Ahh, it’s refreshing to have my own little space once again without feeling any of that pressure.

So I apologise in advance if you happen to read my blog and are offended by what you read, or are disappointed, or I simply bore your socks off!  But I’m not after comments or hits.  I just want to write.

While I had my little blogging break, I also went cold turkey on Facebook and Twitter.  (I’m an all-or-nothing kind of girl.)  And you know what?  I didn’t miss it one bit.  I thought I’d be dying to tweet and see what hashtags were trending, or check what peoples’ Facebook statuses were.  But what in fact happened, was I found I couldn’t give two hoots.  The thought of keeping up with tweets or the flurry of Facebook exhausts me. 

I’ve had many people ask, ”don’t you miss it?” or “where have you gone?!?”  Well I’m still here!  Just in the ‘real world’ much more now. 

There is much to be said for picking up the phone to speak to friends, catching up in person, or even posting them a letter.  Personal, unhurried, simple.  The way life ought to be.

3 responses to “Blogging & me

  1. Fair enough Alison – though ‘we’ your old parent group from EB felt a bit dumped by your sudden dissapearance from EB – I even sent you a PM – we can’t catch up via phone/ visit etc as we were just online friends – but I completely understand your doing whats right for you – just sad to of lost your friendship even if it was just an online one – I know the other girls felt similar and we were all worried something had happened to you.

  2. I like the sincerity of your blog and writing style, it’s wonderful being independent and realizing the importance of doing what you enjoy but also being able to do it! Don’t worry, you’re not alone in not using facebook, I never bothered to get on it and use it, friends and family gave me occasionally a hard time for it, and sometimes I wonder if not publicizing your blog through it is keeping your word in the dark, but I also don’t feel like I’m missing out on something. Saying no to some things means saying yes to others and a big window of time and opportunities opens up.

Leave a Reply

