Big school

Yesterday I visited Mr.4’s primary school – he starts ‘big’ school next year.

And I cried.

I didn’t do a school tour; it wasn’t open day. No, was simply there to just drop his enrolment form in.

Fortunately I didn’t totally lose the plot and bawl my eyes out in front of the office staff. I just wandered down the hallway looking at the artwork, while trying to fight off tears!

Afterwards I wondered about this sudden and unexpected reaction. It was a mix of emotions I’d felt – excitement, being proud of my son, but also sadness knowing it’s the formal start of his life out in the big wide world. I’ve heard all the stories – “and once they start school, they grow up so fast..”. It’s so true.

So the only way to counteract that a little, at least, is to appreciate and treasure special memories as they happen. Thatโ€™s whatโ€™s so handy about having this little blog.

The school tour, by the way, is in a fortnight’s time: perhaps I’d better take some tissues along..

8 responses to “Big school

  1. Hi Alison
    Lovely to read your blog – wow can’t believe your little fella is growing up so fast! So many milestones to get over. I know the feeling well!
    Did you have a wee break from blogging? We all wondered where you had went from EB and were hoping you were ok. We have just started a facebook group up – get in touch if you want and I can add you, Lynn

  2. Lynn, hello! You’re quick off the mark, I only just posted something here tonight after a long absence! Yes I had a break from blogging (and internet in general) – well worth it. I’m off FB now which is rather liberating actually. But I’ll be blogging here ๐Ÿ™‚ No doubt your two are keeping you busy!

  3. Yay you’re back! Isn’t this tough. Have Finns first school visit in a month or so’s time – AHHHHHH! He will start on the 1st of August. Am so excited for him though, he is so ready for the challenge and just wanting to learn at the moment, but I am going to miss him so much.

  4. Oh Alison, how I’ve been wondering if all is well in your world, thanks for opening back up to us. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve been thinking of you often and missed you at the conference.

    I can’t even imagine the big school thing yet….makes me teary at the thought of it. I bet he’ll adore school. Looking forward to hearing about how the tour goes.

    x

  5. Megan & Cat, gosh thanks for your comments…I completely forgot some people may have still subscribed to this blog! Thank you for the big welcome back ๐Ÿ™‚ This time though just want to write stuff for myself, know what I mean? No pressure to do blog link-ups or join blog groups. The KISS principle!

Leave a Reply

