Oh to be a gorilla

There are days when I wish I had the emotional capabilities of a male…or a gorilla.  Same same. 

Only the odd day or two, mind you. 

Almost all of the time, I am in control of my emotions.  In my previous life as a career woman, my ability to remain emotionless and in control worked in my favour.

But we females must inevitably succumb to the pull of oestrogen – and as a result, our emotions can perhaps too often get the better of us.

Would I like the world to be black and white?  Sometimes, yes I would.  It would make life easier at times, definitely.  Especially living in a house where I’m the only female (even the damn cat is male).

But would life be as rich and as deeply lived, if it were all black and white?  No, I don’t think it would.  In fact I dare say its our depth of emotion that grants us the instinctive skill to be mothers.  To also be able to think and feel things a little more intensely.  Which can be an immensely wonderful thing.

But maybe I’m rabbiting on a little.  Maybe I’m talking jibberish and this doesn’t make any sense to you, if you’re reading this. 

Oh well.  Tomorrow I’m sure I’ll resume my normal programming.  I’m sure it’s just the oestrogen talking.

Right?

x

8 responses to “Oh to be a gorilla

  1. Oh, MM, I hear you! It’s a clarion call. Although we do have a bit of oestrogen on Planet Baby (ie 2 girls v 3 boys), in many respects, life would be a ‘little’ easier (it’s all relative) if things were more cut and dried. But I actually find the way Miss India (nearly 3) sees the world so coalesces with my world view that I am both comforted und uplifted as to the world’s future. Long live oestrogen! J x

  2. I totally get where you’re coming from. We all have those days where everything is just too much and crying seems like the most sensible option!

    Yes, being emotionless (read: male) might be easier, but being a woman with emotion is way more interesting. Plus it’s a valid reason to eat chocolate, in my opinion anyway.

    Will check in with you tomorrow and see if the hormones have calmed down! xx

    • You’re a clever little young lady. You remind me of me at your age! lol As for a good cry being the most sensible option…occasionally it can be almost medicinal, I think!

  3. Ugh, I hear you. I’m in a house (of sometimes) males. My daughter spends part of the time with her dad, so when she’s gone, it’s me, my husband, and my son.

    I wish everything was black and white and fit neatly into perfect little boxes!

    I’m not sure what specifically you’re referring to, but I empathize!

  4. I like this quote from the Butterfly Foundation website: “Sometimes struggles are exactly what we need in our life. If we went through our life without any obstacles, it would cripple us. We would not be as strong as what we could have been.”
    So embrace your hormonal moments – and that box of chockies 🙂

Leave a Reply

